|
|
Jeff Wark wrote, On 6/29/09 8:45 AM:
What do you do then when someone like MAPS or SORBS adds you to their
own list and then won't take you off unless you comply with their
'standards'? You're still in the same boat.
At least with Spamhaus, they have an interface that you can update
yourself.
And they provide a clear admonition for users of the PBL that it should not be used as the admin of on.sja.ca is apparently using it.
There is no reliable way to prevent people from doing stupid things. Some kinds of stupid behavior cannot be dodged, and instead have to be confronted directly or tolerated. Those are your only reasonable choices in this case, because if the genius running mail for on.sja.ca is deep-scanning for PBL hits, he is at risk for equivalent clueless behaviors that don't depend on anything you do. You can live with the failures or you can contact the admin of on.sja.ca and explain to him why he shouldn't be doing what he is doing. If you choose the latter route, I would suggest making a conscious effort to keep your sentences simple and words short.
Fred Zwarts wrote, at 6/26/2009 4:11 AM:
"Jeff Wark" <jwark@tbaytel.net> wrote in message
news:list-54210974@mail.stalker.com...
We currently have our dynamic IP address blocks listed with spamhaus
[through their PBL] and with MAPS [in their DUL].
We have a customer sending mail through our server to another
recipient...pretty standard stuff. Here is what my logs are saying:
*our server getting the message*
2009-06-25_10-00.log:10:30:47.981 2 SMTPI-269182([216.26.223.110])
[2612154] received, 4518 bytes
2009-06-25_10-00.log:10:30:47.981 4 SMTPI-269182([216.26.223.110])
rsp: 250 2612154 message accepted for delivery
*our server sending the message*
2009-06-25_10-00.log:10:30:48.268 4 SMTP-015270(on.sja.ca) [2612154]
sending
2009-06-25_10-00.log:10:30:49.060 1 SMTP-015270(on.sja.ca) [2612154]
message body rejected, got:554 mail from 216.26.223.110 refused, see
http://www.spamhaus.org
It appears that the server on.sja.ca is doing some sort of 'deep
scanning' of the received headers and rejecting an email if the email
in question has originated on any computer with an IP address listed
in a blacklist/policy list somewhere. This seems to completely defeat
the usefulness of these lists. The IP is not on any other blacklist
at www.spamhaus.org, only the PBL.
Has anyone else experienced this recently? It happened with another
server a few weeks ago. These people must be rejecting legitimate
email all over the place if they will not accept an email that has
touched a dynamic IP address.
Yes, this happens. That is one of the reasons we do not add our
addresses to such lists.
We configure our routers/switches to block outgoing port 25 (SMTP)
access for addresses that should not send E-mail. This is more
effective and less sensitive for such errors. And problems can be
solved locally in case of errors.
#############################################################
This message is sent to you because you are subscribed to
the mailing list <CGatePro@mail.stalker.com>.
To unsubscribe, E-mail to: <CGatePro-off@mail.stalker.com>
To switch to the DIGEST mode, E-mail to
<CGatePro-digest@mail.stalker.com>
To switch to the INDEX mode, E-mail to <CGatePro-index@mail.stalker.com>
Send administrative queries to <CGatePro-request@mail.stalker.com>
|
|